Interregional cooperation

Out of the 89 constituent territories of the Russian Federation, 76 territories sustain trade and economic relations with Kazakhstan. The constituent territories immediately bordering on Kazakhstan are characterized by increasingly active cooperation with their neighbor country. One of the ways of promoting this cooperation is trans-border economic schemes: supplies of Kazakhstani coal from Ekybastuz to the power stations of the Urals and Siberia in exchange for supplies of electricity to Kazakhstan; the supplies of Kazakhstani mineral raw materials to ore mining and smelting plants in the South Ural district in exchange for their finished products; Kazakhstani supplies of oil and liquid gas to processing plants in Samara, Orenburg Oblast and Bashkiria in exchange for supplies of oil products and natural gas.

Trans-regional and trans-border trade constitutes about 70% of the bilateral trade turnover.